Hello everyone — I have good news! I’ve just published two ebooks on Amazon Kindle:

Saigon Tease: So, What Did You Do in Nam, Dad? (Amazon Kindle, $3.99) is a memoir of my Vietnam tour of duty in 1967-1968. My experience there was quite different from the ones you often read about, which is why I think it’s time, as we commemorate the 50th anniversary of the war, to tell this story. Here’s a description:

saigonteasecover

Catch-22 was the first classic farce about American military life. “M*A*S*H,” set later during the Korean War, continued that tradition. But few books have chronicled the behind-the-scenes absurdities of the Vietnam War.

In the tradition of “Sgt. Bilko,” Saigon Tease follows the misadventures, narrow escapes, and anguish of an 18-year-old in Vietnam in 1967 as he awkwardly transitions from boy to man. But it differs from its predecessors in one significant way: all the bizarre escapades are true. And that 18-year-old was me.

Many Americans, when asked what comes to mind when they think of Vietnam, would probably say anger, torment, sadness. I had a different experience. For that reason, the tone of my book is not angry, tormented, or sad. Saigon Tease is not a war story, and yet it is very much a war story. It’s not a diary from the front lines; it’s a chronicle from behind the lines where the vast majority of Vietnam vets served. It’s a saga of wonder and beauty and innocence and mischief set in exotic Southeast Asia during the pivotal war of our generation.

But perhaps the most significant thing about this memoir is that these tales were not the exceptions; they were the norm for most men and women who went there. And that story has never been told.

How I Killed Off My Ex-Wife and Other Far-Flung Misadventures (Amazon Kindle, $2.99) is a humor collection of all the other places I’ve gotten into trouble around the world. I had a ton of fun compiling this. Many of the stories were sold to such publications as National Geographic Traveler, Islands, The Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, and the lead piece in Not So Funny When It Happened: The Best of Travel Humor and Misadventure (Travelers’ Tales, 2000).

How I killed cover final

In the tradition of George Plimpton’s Out of My League and P.J. O’Rourke’s Holidays in Hell, participatory journalist Wood takes the reader around the world to document a lifetime of foolish decisions, embarrassing behavior, horrifying predicaments, and really, really bad luck. From disrobing for Playgirl to rescuing a hostage at James Bond Fantasy Camp. From getting the dung scared out of him on a Tanzanian safari to being detained as a spy in Havana. From stressing out on “The Dating Game” to snuffing his ex in Vietnam.

How I Killed Off My Ex-Wife is a collection of true stories that may cause the reader to wonder: No way this many dumb, outrageous, impossible things could have happened. Not to one person. Not in one lifetime. Not without extraordinarily poor judgment, unusually bad karma, or being dared lots and lots of times.

Most readers have had crazy experiences in their life. What separates them from Wood is that most people have good reputations to protect, possess reasonable judgment, and have the good sense not to publish their stories and confirm what ninnies they really are.

Both books are currently being serialized, one story/chapter at a time, for free on Jukepop.com every week. How I Killed Off My Ex-Wife is already an Editor’s Pick. Check them out!

